View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
rodaz143 n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 17 Jan 2014 Posts: 4
|
Posted: Fri Jan 17, 2014 10:25 am Post subject: pinging outside the network behind two routers |
|
|
Hello everyone. As the topic states, I'm having some difficulty pinging outside my network. I have two routers set up. The master router, and the secondary router, which is acting as a wireless bridge. My Gentoo box is connected to the secondary router. I can ping both routers and all computers on the network, but nothing outside the local network. The main router's IP is 10.0.0.1 and the secondary router's IP is 10.0.0.254
Here is my /etc/conf.d/net:
Code: |
config_enp1s0="10.0.0.253/24"
routes_enp1s0="default via 10.0.0.254"
dns_servers_enp1s0="10.0.0.1 8.8.8.8"
|
And the results of ip route show
Code: |
default via 10.0.0.0/24 dev enp1s0 proto kernel scope link src 10.0.0.253
127.0.0.0/8 dev lo scope host
|
What am I doing wrong? |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
NeddySeagoon Administrator
![Administrator Administrator](/images/ranks/rank-admin.gif)
![](images/avatars/3946266373f47d606a2db3.jpg)
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54831 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Fri Jan 17, 2014 10:17 pm Post subject: |
|
|
rodaz143,
Welcome to Gentoo.
Test with and
If both fail, its a routing problem.
If the ping by name fails but ping by IP works, its a DNS issue.
Any error messages you get will be useful too. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
rodaz143 n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 17 Jan 2014 Posts: 4
|
Posted: Sat Jan 18, 2014 1:21 am Post subject: |
|
|
I'm getting this message by pinging the IP address Code: | From 10.0.0.254: icmp_seq=1 Redirect Host(New nexthop: 10.0.0.1) |
And obviously I can't ping any domains.
UPDATE:
well that's odd. I went to eat dinner and forgot that not only was I logged into the server from my laptop via ssh, I was also pinging (or rather, trying to ping) 8.8.8.8, Google's OpenDNS primary server. When I noticed it and stopped it, this was the output
Code: | PING 8.8.8.8 (8.8.8.8) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 8.8.8.8: icmp_seq=1702 ttl=47 time=39.5 ms
^C
--- 8.8.8.8 ping statistics ---
13856 packets transmitted, 1 received, 99% packet loss, time 13855083ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 39.589/39.589/39.589/0.000 ms |
|
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
lexflex Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
Joined: 05 Mar 2006 Posts: 363 Location: the Netherlands
|
Posted: Sat Jan 18, 2014 7:23 am Post subject: Re: pinging outside the network behind two routers |
|
|
rodaz143 wrote: | The master router, and the secondary router, which is acting as a wireless bridge.
Code: |
config_enp1s0="10.0.0.253/24"
routes_enp1s0="default via 10.0.0.254"
dns_servers_enp1s0="10.0.0.1 8.8.8.8"
|
And the results of ip route show
Code: |
default via 10.0.0.0/24 dev enp1s0 proto kernel scope link src 10.0.0.253
127.0.0.0/8 dev lo scope host
|
What am I doing wrong? |
Hi,
It depends on whether your secondary 'router' is actually configured as a bridge or not.
If it is a bridge, I guess you cannot use it as the default gateway.
Maybe try to change the default routes /gateway to the IP address of your primary router. ( 10.0.0.1) .
One other thing to make sure: If you connect your computer directly to the primary router, everything does work? ( just to make sure nothing else is going on).
Alex. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
rodaz143 n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 17 Jan 2014 Posts: 4
|
Posted: Sat Jan 18, 2014 7:34 am Post subject: |
|
|
it's configured as a bridge according to
http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Wireless_Bridge
It still doesn't work even if I set the main router as my default gateway. I tried plugging it into the main router directly and it worked fine. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
lexflex Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
Joined: 05 Mar 2006 Posts: 363 Location: the Netherlands
|
Posted: Sat Jan 18, 2014 7:51 am Post subject: Re: pinging outside the network behind two routers |
|
|
Mmm, strange, ' ip route show' in your case doesn't show the gateway but I guess it should (if I try it gives 'default via <correct IP>' )
rodaz143 wrote: |
And the results of ip route show
Code: |
default via 10.0.0.0/24 dev enp1s0 proto kernel scope link src 10.0.0.253
127.0.0.0/8 dev lo scope host
|
|
Can you try to set the default gateway using something like:
Code: | route add default gw 10.0.0.1 enp1s0 |
and try again ip show route to see if it make any difference ? ( i.e. if it then shows the gateway you defined? ). |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
lexflex Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
Joined: 05 Mar 2006 Posts: 363 Location: the Netherlands
|
Posted: Sat Jan 18, 2014 7:58 am Post subject: |
|
|
One more thing, in /etc/conf.d/net:
Code: | config_enp1s0="10.0.0.253/24" |
Shouldn't that be (in order to define the IP address):
Code: | config_enp1s0="10.0.0.253" |
Or is this the way to define the netmask ? |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
rodaz143 n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 17 Jan 2014 Posts: 4
|
Posted: Sat Jan 18, 2014 9:18 am Post subject: |
|
|
never mind, I think the issue may be with my slave router and the fact that it's set as a bridge. Looking at the main router's connected devices panel, it looks like the slave router was doing weird things with the server's IP, so I'm going to try messing with the slave router's configuration |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
NeddySeagoon Administrator
![Administrator Administrator](/images/ranks/rank-admin.gif)
![](images/avatars/3946266373f47d606a2db3.jpg)
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54831 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Sat Jan 18, 2014 1:02 pm Post subject: |
|
|
lexflex,
Thats an alternate way to define the netmask.
Bold ways are valid syntax _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
|