View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
ALF__ Apprentice
Joined: 30 Nov 2003 Posts: 246
|
Posted: Thu Jun 26, 2014 9:52 pm Post subject: wpa_gui wont work |
|
|
Hello.
Trying to get the nightmare of wireless lan to work on a fresh laptop install.
Trying to start wpa_gui, and it windows opens up, but nothing more shows, and i get this:
QnativeImage: Unable to attach to shared memory segment.
Followed by many:
X Error: BadDrawable (Invalid pixmap or window parameter) 9
Major opcode: 62 (X_CopyArea)
Any ideas? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Tractor Girl Apprentice
Joined: 16 May 2013 Posts: 159
|
Posted: Thu Jun 26, 2014 10:25 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Here's simple config. No need for gui. Modify it for your needs.
/etc/conf.d/net
Code: | modules_wlan0="wpa_supplicant"
wpa_supplicant_wlan0="-Dnl80211 -qq"
config_wlan0="192.168.1.111/24"
routes_wlan0="default via 192.168.1.1" |
/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf
Code: | ctrl_interface=DIR=/var/run/wpa_supplicant GROUP=wheel
update_config=1
network={
scan_ssid=1
ssid="NAME"
psk="PASSWORD"
proto=RSN
key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
pairwise=CCMP
auth_alg=OPEN
} |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
ALF__ Apprentice
Joined: 30 Nov 2003 Posts: 246
|
Posted: Thu Jun 26, 2014 10:49 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks. I will try that.
Though my card have gotten i really long name
After editing those files. What do i need to do to make it run? Like ifconfig up or something simmiliar?
Also, for using dhcp, what changes is needed? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Tractor Girl Apprentice
Joined: 16 May 2013 Posts: 159
|
Posted: Thu Jun 26, 2014 11:09 pm Post subject: |
|
|
For dhcp your /etc/conf.d/net should probably look like this:
Quote: | modules_wlan0="wpa_supplicant"
wpa_supplicant_wlan0="-Dnl80211 -qq" |
The red part must be changed accordingly to your wifi card.
You can check interface name (wlan0 in this example) with:
Also make sure you're in whatever group you specify in /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf ("wheel" in my example).
Apart from that standard handbook stuff should be enough:
Code: | ln -s /etc/init.d/net.lo /etc/init.d/net.INTERFACE_NAME
rc-update add net.INTERFACE_NAME default
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
szatox Advocate
Joined: 27 Aug 2013 Posts: 3435
|
Posted: Fri Jun 27, 2014 9:26 am Post subject: |
|
|
The way suggested here uses old-good netifrc, so you must create link named "net.<your interface name>" pointing at "net.lo", both located in /etc/init.d/
You start your interface like any other service started with init system, e.g. "/etc/init.d/net.wlan0 s tart" will apply predefined config to wlan0.
Good, easy way to make it work with static configuration, however since you mentioned laptop I suppose you're going to move it around a bit, so networkmanager or some other stuff doing the same job in graphic mode and without root permissions is likely to be preferable.
You can define multiple networks in wpa_supplicant's config and let it pick the one in range though, so if you only move between several, known locations, changing configs manually might be significantly less pain than it appears. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
khayyam Watchman
Joined: 07 Jun 2012 Posts: 6227 Location: Room 101
|
Posted: Fri Jun 27, 2014 1:15 pm Post subject: Re: wpa_gui wont work |
|
|
ALF__ wrote: | QnativeImage: Unable to attach to shared memory segment. |
ALF__ ... this is possibly due to missing tmpfs/shm support in the kernel.
Code: | # egrep '(_TMPFS|SHMEM)' /usr/src/linux/.config
# mount | grep shm |
best ... khay |
|
Back to top |
|
|
ALF__ Apprentice
Joined: 30 Nov 2003 Posts: 246
|
Posted: Fri Jun 27, 2014 9:23 pm Post subject: Re: wpa_gui wont work |
|
|
khayyam wrote: | ALF__ wrote: | QnativeImage: Unable to attach to shared memory segment. |
ALF__ ... this is possibly due to missing tmpfs/shm support in the kernel.
Code: | # egrep '(_TMPFS|SHMEM)' /usr/src/linux/.config
# mount | grep shm |
best ... khay |
Thanks guys for your responses.
Khayyam: I will check this when I get home. Do you think this could affect the rendering problems? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
ALF__ Apprentice
Joined: 30 Nov 2003 Posts: 246
|
Posted: Sat Jun 28, 2014 10:50 am Post subject: Re: wpa_gui wont work |
|
|
khayyam wrote: | ALF__ wrote: | QnativeImage: Unable to attach to shared memory segment. |
ALF__ ... this is possibly due to missing tmpfs/shm support in the kernel.
Code: | # egrep '(_TMPFS|SHMEM)' /usr/src/linux/.config
# mount | grep shm |
best ... khay |
Hello!
yep, TMPFS was in the kernel configuration, and it output:
shm on /dev/shm type tmpfs |
|
Back to top |
|
|
khayyam Watchman
Joined: 07 Jun 2012 Posts: 6227 Location: Room 101
|
Posted: Sat Jun 28, 2014 12:03 pm Post subject: Re: wpa_gui wont work |
|
|
ALF__ wrote: | khayyam wrote: | ALF__ ... this is possibly due to missing tmpfs/shm support in the kernel. |
yep, TMPFS was in the kernel configuration [...] |
ALF__ ... ok, I should have said "wild guess" :) ... the error is infact from Qt, not sure why but you might provide/pastebin the output of 'emerge --info' and 'strace wpa_gui':
Code: | # emerge --info wpa_supplicant
# emerge --ask strace
# su - <your_user_name>
$ strace wpa_gui |
best ... khay |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|