Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Radeon and X config [SOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

Goto page Previous  1, 2  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
SmokinBudda
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Oct 2003
Posts: 46
Location: Da Dirty Dirty

PostPosted: Thu Nov 06, 2003 5:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey Wedge, I just wanted to thank you for your answers on this thread. I've been able to set up my Radeon 9800 Pro with pretty good results (currently it's running glxgears at 4100FPS). At the very least it's much better than VESA.

Not sure if it can't get any higher due to my settings or the fact that I'm running a Via chipset (I saw somewhere on the other ATi thread that Via support isn't as good as your nForce2 card?).

If you have any off the cuff things that I could check let me know.

To help you out I've listed all of the steps that I followed to get it to work. Perhaps this will help alliviate some of the question load that you've been getting.

First I ran make menuconfig in /usr/src/linux to compile my kernel with agp support and removed DRM support (you can see I have a Via board).
Code:
<*> /dev/agpgart (AGP Support)
   [ ]   Intel 440LX/BX/GX and I815/I820/I830M/I830MP/I840/I845/I850/I86
   [ ]   Intel I810/I815/I830M (on-board) support
   [*]   VIA chipset support
   [ ]   AMD Irongate, 761, and 762 support
   [ ]   AMD 8151 support
   [ ]   Generic SiS support
   [ ]   ALI chipset support
   [ ]   Serverworks LE/HE support
[ ] Direct Rendering Manager (XFree86 DRI support)

I removed Frame Buffer support (which of course removed the radeon support. Like Wedge said, it just got in the way.

I recompiled the kernel and rebooted (perhaps there is a way to not reboot?) For n00bs who unlike me haven't compiled their kernel 8 times in the last 3 days because he is an idiot just run ...
Code:
make dep && make clean bzImage modules modules_install
mount /dev/boot /boot
cp arch/i386/boot/bzImage /boot

Then I rebooted.

Next I ran emerge ati-drivers. For the record I got 3.2.8 without having to specify the ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~x86" and I don't have it in my /etc/menu.conf. Maybe it's also stored somewhere else or maybe they changed the build. I don't know enough to know how to find out. After the emerge I ran /opt/ati/bin/fglrxconfig. It ran me thought a config script like XF86Config did, it was pretty darn simple.

After that I just needed to restart x and I was in business. I'm currently playing Scorch3D (with a ton of artifacts, but it's still a 3D version of scorched earth :D )
_________________
Life is a tragedy for those who feel; and a comedy for those who think.
---Chinese Proverb

www.davinatkins.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wedge_
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 08 Aug 2002
Posts: 3614
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Thu Nov 06, 2003 12:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bert_ wrote:
did this get resolved?

this is the same problem I was having.

I knew I remembered seeing your problem somewhere else. It doesn't look like KShots got it working :( Which version of XFree are you using?

SmokinBudda wrote:
Not sure if it can't get any higher due to my settings or the fact that I'm running a Via chipset (I saw somewhere on the other ATi thread that Via support isn't as good as your nForce2 card?).

If you have any off the cuff things that I could check let me know.

That score sounds fine. I get ~4900 currently (XP2700/nForce2/9800Pro). It's not that VIA chipsets perform worse than nForce2 boards, it's just that lots of people have had problems with the AGP support for VIA chipsets, particularly the KT400 versions. The nForce AGP support in the kernel and the driver itself seems to be more reliable.

SmokinBudda wrote:
I removed Frame Buffer support (which of course removed the radeon support. Like Wedge said, it just got in the way.

I recompiled the kernel and rebooted (perhaps there is a way to not reboot?) For n00bs who unlike me haven't compiled their kernel 8 times in the last 3 days because he is an idiot just run ...

You don't actually have to remove the framebuffer support if you don't want to. It's DRM support that you really don't want :) I use the vesa framebuffer and it works fine with the ati-drivers. The radeon framebuffer driver has never worked for me though.

There is a way to switch kernels without rebooting, but AFAIK it's still very much a work in progress, and you're not supposed to use it at the moment. Rebooting is the normal way to do it :wink:
_________________
Per Ardua Ad Astra
The Earth is the cradle of the mind, but we cannot live forever in a cradle - Konstantin E. Tsiolkovsky
Gentoo Radeon FAQ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SmokinBudda
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Oct 2003
Posts: 46
Location: Da Dirty Dirty

PostPosted: Thu Nov 06, 2003 3:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wedge_ wrote:
You don't actually have to remove the framebuffer support if you don't want to. It's DRM support that you really don't want :) I use the vesa framebuffer and it works fine with the ati-drivers. The radeon framebuffer driver has never worked for me though.

What is the framebuffer supposed to do? (Trying to decide it it's worth redoing that or not - you don't have to test it for me or anything, but if you know it's intended purpose that would be good). Otherwise thanks again for your great help. I'm sure 90% of the ATi Gentoo users owe you a debt of gratitude :D .

BTW, if you're into this sort of thing, bittech is supposed to be interviewing ATi today. They asked readers to submit questions and about 7:10 of the questions were about when good Linux drivers could be expected. The interview should be posted today or tomorrow I imagine.

EDIT: I went home at lunch and tried turing on framebuffer. No imporvement, but no loss either. So I left it on.
_________________
Life is a tragedy for those who feel; and a comedy for those who think.
---Chinese Proverb

www.davinatkins.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wedge_
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 08 Aug 2002
Posts: 3614
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Thu Nov 06, 2003 6:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

SmokinBudda wrote:
What is the framebuffer supposed to do? (Trying to decide it it's worth redoing that or not - you don't have to test it for me or anything, but if you know it's intended purpose that would be good). Otherwise thanks again for your great help. I'm sure 90% of the ATi Gentoo users owe you a debt of gratitude

The framebuffer basically lets you have a nice high resolution console instead of the standard 640x480 text display. For example, if you append the option "vga=0x31B" onto your kernel command line in grub/lilo it'll give you a 1280x1024 console. See /usr/src/linux/Documentation/fb/vesafb.txt for a table of all the mode numbers. There are other things you can use it for, but that's what most people do with it AFAIK.

SmokinBudda wrote:
BTW, if you're into this sort of thing, bittech is supposed to be interviewing ATi today. They asked readers to submit questions and about 7:10 of the questions were about when good Linux drivers could be expected. The interview should be posted today or tomorrow I imagine.

Thanks, I'll be interested in seeing what they're saying. I think that ATI are planning to release Linux drivers 6 times per year (Cats are 12 times per year), so we should hopefully see another update to the current drivers in the next month or so.
_________________
Per Ardua Ad Astra
The Earth is the cradle of the mind, but we cannot live forever in a cradle - Konstantin E. Tsiolkovsky
Gentoo Radeon FAQ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SmokinBudda
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Oct 2003
Posts: 46
Location: Da Dirty Dirty

PostPosted: Thu Nov 06, 2003 7:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's what I like about you Wedge, I didn't even know I needed to ask the question "How do I change my console size" until I read your last post and thought "Boy I should totally do that". Thanks again.
_________________
Life is a tragedy for those who feel; and a comedy for those who think.
---Chinese Proverb

www.davinatkins.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bert_
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Nov 2003
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Thu Nov 06, 2003 10:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wedge_ wrote:
I knew I remembered seeing your problem somewhere else. It doesn't look like KShots got it working :( Which version of XFree are you using?



I WAS using 4.3.0-r3 I THINK...

now that I've restarted I can't get that going again, so I installed a GRP package of r2. I'm having problems with it though because X errors with GLX module not being found--not loaded.

I also noticed the dri and dmr modules load... is this usual? I thought I diabled this in the kernel.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KShots
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Oct 2003
Posts: 593
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Fri Nov 07, 2003 10:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, I'm still sitting with a vesa desktop... Just limits 40% of what I wanted to do with this box :(
_________________
Life without passion is death in disguise
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KShots
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Oct 2003
Posts: 593
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Fri Nov 07, 2003 11:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Argh... I just got back into trying this, decided to attempt to try a "clean" slate - recompiled my kernel, re-did alsa's modules, and did an emerge -C ati-drivers, which got rid of what I'd compiled... and guess what happens when I try to compile now?
Code:
/usr/lib/gcc-lib/i686-pc-linux-gnu/3.2.3/../../../../i686-pc-linux-gnu/bin/ld: cannot find -lGL
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
make: *** [fireglcontrol.qt3.gcc3.2.3] Error 1
rm moc_Page.cpp moc_TVoutAdjustPage.cpp moc_AdjustPage.cpp moc_InfoPage.cpp moc_DualScreenPage.cpp moc_Sheet.cpp

!!! ERROR: media-video/ati-drivers-3.2.8 failed.
!!! Function src_compile, Line 94, Exitcode 2
!!! (no error message)
And this was with doing ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~x86" emerge ati-drivers... any ideas?
_________________
Life without passion is death in disguise
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wedge_
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 08 Aug 2002
Posts: 3614
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Fri Nov 07, 2003 11:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This particular problem at least is easy to fix. Do
Code:
opengl-update xfree
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~x86" emerge ati-drivers
opengl-update ati

_________________
Per Ardua Ad Astra
The Earth is the cradle of the mind, but we cannot live forever in a cradle - Konstantin E. Tsiolkovsky
Gentoo Radeon FAQ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KShots
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Oct 2003
Posts: 593
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Sat Nov 08, 2003 12:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, that got it to compile... unfortunately, after running fglrxconfig again, I'm still in the same position: It won't work :(. I'm seriously stumped :cry:
_________________
Life without passion is death in disguise
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gizmo.tar.bz23
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 Sep 2003
Posts: 81
Location: germany/stuttgart

PostPosted: Sat Nov 08, 2003 1:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hmm, what XFree are u using???

recompile ur kernel with agpgart
but without drm. doesnt matter
if agpgart is module or not.
then merge the xfree-drm packet.
after that try out the newest
version of the x-server, 4.3.99.15
its in the portage tree already but
u have to unmask it first.
make sure u unmerged the ati-drivers.

i went through the x-servers changelog
and i think it says that the radeon9800
doesnt work with xfree-4.3.x

i merged the new x-server already
and i got no problems with it yet.
although they say its the last
snapshot before X4.4

give it a try...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wedge_
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 08 Aug 2002
Posts: 3614
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Sat Nov 08, 2003 12:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gizmo.tar.bz23 wrote:
recompile ur kernel with agpgart
but without drm. doesnt matter
if agpgart is module or not.
then merge the xfree-drm packet.
after that try out the newest
version of the x-server, 4.3.99.15
its in the portage tree already but
u have to unmask it first.
make sure u unmerged the ati-drivers.

You don't need xfree-drm if you're using ati-drivers, you just need one or the other.

gizmo.tar.bz23 wrote:
i went through the x-servers changelog
and i think it says that the radeon9800
doesnt work with xfree-4.3.x

I'm using 4.3.0-r3 and my 9800 works fine. I'm not even sure if the 4.3.9x versions are compatible with the ATI drivers. IIRC they don't work together.
_________________
Per Ardua Ad Astra
The Earth is the cradle of the mind, but we cannot live forever in a cradle - Konstantin E. Tsiolkovsky
Gentoo Radeon FAQ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gizmo.tar.bz23
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 Sep 2003
Posts: 81
Location: germany/stuttgart

PostPosted: Sat Nov 08, 2003 5:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeah, i know they wont work together.
i tried the ati drivers too with a radeon9200 and i ran into
weird problems. using xfree i never had such problems.

all in all i think with X4.3.99.15 the newer radeon cards are just working fine.
so i would give it a try before working hours without a result.

but it was five in the morning so i dont all the posts.
was just an idea .. :-)
_________________
hail eris, all hail discordia. [fnord]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wedge_
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 08 Aug 2002
Posts: 3614
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Sat Nov 08, 2003 5:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gizmo.tar.bz23 wrote:
all in all i think with X4.3.99.15 the newer radeon cards are just working fine.
so i would give it a try before working hours without a result.

So the 4.3.99 builds of X do definitely work with the ati-drivers? I'm sure the last one I tried didn't, but that was a while ago. I'll give 4.3.99.15 a go if it's going to work.
_________________
Per Ardua Ad Astra
The Earth is the cradle of the mind, but we cannot live forever in a cradle - Konstantin E. Tsiolkovsky
Gentoo Radeon FAQ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gizmo.tar.bz23
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 Sep 2003
Posts: 81
Location: germany/stuttgart

PostPosted: Sat Nov 08, 2003 7:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i dont know if the ati-drivers work with X4.3.99.15,
but the xfree-drm should work.
i cant say it for sure becasue im not god :-)

but just look through the xfree changelogs from 4.3 to 4.3.99
and u will see what changes they made.
also there are a lot of third-party graphics boards
who maybe do not work correctly.

do u need the ati-drivers?? tv-out???
i dont know if theres another solution.

on the box with my radeon9200 i updated to the newer X.
before there was a strange message about a secondary display
adapter, but it worked all correctly.
i go through the changelog and they say they fixed some issues with that and added
support for newer radeon cards.

its up to u :-)))
_________________
hail eris, all hail discordia. [fnord]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wedge_
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 08 Aug 2002
Posts: 3614
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Sat Nov 08, 2003 7:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The fglrx driver is the only one that supports acceleration on 9800s, so I don't use xfree-drm anyway. I don't have any problems with version 4.3.0, I was just wondering if the newer snapshots had somehow become compatible, because the last time I checked they weren't.

KShots, if I think of anything to help, I'll post it here.
_________________
Per Ardua Ad Astra
The Earth is the cradle of the mind, but we cannot live forever in a cradle - Konstantin E. Tsiolkovsky
Gentoo Radeon FAQ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gizmo.tar.bz23
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 Sep 2003
Posts: 81
Location: germany/stuttgart

PostPosted: Sat Nov 08, 2003 7:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

:idea:
have loot at that:

http://cvsweb.xfree86.org/cvsweb/xc/programs/Xserver/hw/xfree86/CHANGELOG?rev=HEAD

there are several chamges for radeon cards.



but i didnt find anything about wheter the ati-driver is compatible or
not. also in the net.


but maybe it fixes the problems for the others...
_________________
hail eris, all hail discordia. [fnord]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wedge_
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 08 Aug 2002
Posts: 3614
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Sat Nov 08, 2003 8:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, I remember reading some of that a while back. The Radeon changes mentioned will be for the XFree "radeon" driver. It should work in 2D now with all Radeon cards, but the ati-driver is the only one that supports 3D acceleration with the newer cards.
_________________
Per Ardua Ad Astra
The Earth is the cradle of the mind, but we cannot live forever in a cradle - Konstantin E. Tsiolkovsky
Gentoo Radeon FAQ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gizmo.tar.bz23
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 Sep 2003
Posts: 81
Location: germany/stuttgart

PostPosted: Sat Nov 08, 2003 8:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeah, got that.

i went through the dri page and read that they dont provide
radeon9800 support.

but i have seen another post in a mailinglist where a guy said that
the ati-drivers dont work with X4.3.99 ..... but he said also that it
dont work with 4.3 ...... :roll:


but i think X4.4 will be released soon and then there will be an
updated ati-driver if the current one dont work.
_________________
hail eris, all hail discordia. [fnord]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KShots
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Oct 2003
Posts: 593
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Wed Nov 19, 2003 6:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Update - I changed my kernel to gentoo-sources (I was using gentoo-gaming). Unfortunately, this had no effect. Possibly because they are both 2.4.20. Then again, I'd think there would be more people with this problem if gentoo-sources or gentoo-gaming was the root cause.
_________________
Life without passion is death in disguise
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KShots
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Oct 2003
Posts: 593
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Fri Feb 20, 2004 7:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Problem solved...

Unfortunately, I can't say what solved it. The one thing I noticed the most is that the primary output on my card is different between Windows and Linux. If I use the primary from Windows here, and have nothing on Windows' secondary, I believe that would cause the problem I had. However, I recently re-installed Gentoo from stage 1 again, so I can't say for sure if this is the case. However, I am now running KDE with the Radeon drivers 8). Thank you all for your help over time, this has been a great resource!
_________________
Life without passion is death in disguise
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Beetle B.
Guru
Guru


Joined: 01 Mar 2003
Posts: 524

PostPosted: Thu Mar 04, 2004 7:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Congrats!

Good to know.

I'm stuck with a Radeon 8500LE - never got TV out to work.
_________________
Beetle B.

Please update the table of equivalents.
A Firefox guide.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KShots
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Oct 2003
Posts: 593
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2004 10:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey, it's me again. I can now say with some certainty what the problem actually was - it's not really an ATI driver problem at all!

I was installing Gentoo on my laptop (after piddling around with Mandrake and its horrible kdevelop environment (nothing is correctly linked!)), and lo and behold... the video just wouldn't work. Same issues I was having with my Radeon system. Well... what the frell... I spent many days trying to fix this problem, trying everything. The video worked without a hitch in Mandrake... I even kept the config files! Well, my focus drifted from config files and kernel issues... and I started to look at it like it may be a Gentoo-specific problem. Turns out it is. What other distribution makes it so easy to statically link absolutely everything? Turned out the problem was the I had the static USE flag enabled when I built xorg-x11 on my laptop. This statically links all built-in modules (hence vesa, nv, etc.), and does not allow you to load externel modules (like fglrx or nvidia). I was literally pulling hair out until I realized this... and a long time back, my desktop fell back into this mode also (but I gave up quickly on that... I was frustrated). Now both systems are up and running.

I sincerely hope that this prevents someone from shooting themselves out of frustration. Thanks guys!
_________________
Life without passion is death in disguise
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum