View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
lekto Apprentice
Joined: 20 Sep 2014 Posts: 207 Location: Ancient Rome
|
Posted: Thu Sep 28, 2023 2:44 pm Post subject: [SOLVED] Portage/git can't resolve github.com |
|
|
I have no clue what happened, but one of my machines can't access github.com. This machine works headlessly and wasn't updated for about mount. Meanwhile I had Internet breakdown in my house, after calling ISP they said that they can't access antenna on our roof. They arrived and did something to roof's antenna, factory restarted router upstairs (they didn't touch my router connected to router upstairs) and Internet is back. But, since then one of my machines have problem with accessing github.com:
Code: | nas ~ # emerge --sync
>>> Syncing repository 'gentoo' into '/var/db/repos/gentoo'...
/usr/bin/git fetch origin --depth 1
fatal: unable to access 'https://github.com/gentoo-mirror/gentoo.git/': Could not resolve host: github.com
!!! git fetch error in /var/db/repos/gentoo
Action: sync for repo: gentoo, returned code = 128 |
Code: | nas ~ # emerge -1 yt-dlp
Calculating dependencies... done!
Dependency resolution took 18.03 s.
>>> Verifying ebuild manifests
>>> Emerging (1 of 1) net-misc/yt-dlp-9999::gentoo
>>> Failed to emerge net-misc/yt-dlp-9999, Log file:
>>> '/var/tmp/portage/net-misc/yt-dlp-9999/temp/build.log'
>>> Jobs: 0 of 1 complete, 1 failed Load avg: 4.52, 4.01, 3.43
* Package: net-misc/yt-dlp-9999:0
* Repository: gentoo
* Maintainer: ionen@gentoo.org
* USE: abi_x86_64 amd64 elibc_glibc kernel_linux python_targets_python3_11
* FEATURES: network-sandbox preserve-libs sandbox userpriv usersandbox
>>> Unpacking source...
* Repository id: yt-dlp_yt-dlp.git
* To override fetched repository properties, use:
* EGIT_OVERRIDE_REPO_YT_DLP_YT_DLP
* EGIT_OVERRIDE_BRANCH_YT_DLP_YT_DLP
* EGIT_OVERRIDE_COMMIT_YT_DLP_YT_DLP
* EGIT_OVERRIDE_COMMIT_DATE_YT_DLP_YT_DLP
*
* Fetching https://github.com/yt-dlp/yt-dlp.git ...
git fetch https://github.com/yt-dlp/yt-dlp.git +HEAD:refs/git-r3/HEAD
fatal: unable to access 'https://github.com/yt-dlp/yt-dlp.git/': Could not resolve host: github.com |
Ping is still working:
Code: | nas ~ # ping github.com
PING github.com (140.82.121.4) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from lb-140-82-121-4-fra.github.com (140.82.121.4): icmp_seq=1 ttl=46 time=18.4 ms
64 bytes from lb-140-82-121-4-fra.github.com (140.82.121.4): icmp_seq=2 ttl=46 time=17.0 ms
64 bytes from lb-140-82-121-4-fra.github.com (140.82.121.4): icmp_seq=3 ttl=46 time=16.6 ms
64 bytes from lb-140-82-121-4-fra.github.com (140.82.121.4): icmp_seq=4 ttl=46 time=16.4 ms
64 bytes from lb-140-82-121-4-fra.github.com (140.82.121.4): icmp_seq=5 ttl=46 time=16.4 ms |
Last edited by lekto on Thu Sep 28, 2023 4:37 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
grknight Retired Dev
Joined: 20 Feb 2015 Posts: 1908
|
Posted: Thu Sep 28, 2023 2:51 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Change to the portage user, su -s /bin/bash - portage, then try to ping. Does ping still work?
Edit: clarified
Last edited by grknight on Thu Sep 28, 2023 2:57 pm; edited 2 times in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
lekto Apprentice
Joined: 20 Sep 2014 Posts: 207 Location: Ancient Rome
|
Posted: Thu Sep 28, 2023 2:55 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Same:
Code: | portage@nas ~ $ emerge --sync
>>> Syncing repository 'gentoo' into '/var/db/repos/gentoo'...
/usr/bin/git fetch origin --depth 1
fatal: unable to access 'https://github.com/gentoo-mirror/gentoo.git/': Could not resolve host: github.com
!!! git fetch error in /var/db/repos/gentoo
Action: sync for repo: gentoo, returned code = 128 |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Ionen Developer
Joined: 06 Dec 2018 Posts: 2850
|
Posted: Thu Sep 28, 2023 4:01 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Does it happen with git on its own?
e.g. git clone --depth 1 https://github.com/yt-dlp/yt-dlp.git
And if it does, it happen with curl too? (git uses curl), e.g. curl https://github.com/ >/dev/null
(all fine for me including with portage ftr, albeit there could be some factors like curl version or maybe USE on curl given it has different implementations to handle dns -- but feels unlikely). |
|
Back to top |
|
|
lekto Apprentice
Joined: 20 Sep 2014 Posts: 207 Location: Ancient Rome
|
Posted: Thu Sep 28, 2023 4:08 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Git doesn't work with https, but works with ssh:
Code: | nas ~ # git clone https://github.com/gentoo-mirror/gentoo.git --depth=1
Cloning into 'gentoo'...
fatal: unable to access 'https://github.com/gentoo-mirror/gentoo.git/': Could not resolve host: github.com
nas ~ # git clone https://gitlab.freedesktop.org/mesa/mesa.git --depth=1
Cloning into 'mesa'...
fatal: unable to access 'https://gitlab.freedesktop.org/mesa/mesa.git/': Could not resolve host: gitlab.freedesktop.org
nas ~ # git clone git@gitlab.freedesktop.org:mesa/mesa.git --depth=1
Cloning into 'mesa'...
git@gitlab.freedesktop.org: Permission denied (publickey).
fatal: Could not read from remote repository.
Please make sure you have the correct access rights
and the repository exists. |
Curl doesn't work:
Code: | nas ~ # curl https://github.com/ > /dev/null
% Total % Received % Xferd Average Speed Time Time Time Current
Dload Upload Total Spent Left Speed
0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 --:--:-- 0:01:14 --:--:-- 0curl: (6) Could not resolve host: github.com |
I compared USE flags with my other machine and they look same (except for abi_x86_32):
Code: | lekto@nas ~ $ equery uses curl
[ Legend : U - final flag setting for installation]
[ : I - package is installed with flag ]
[ Colors : set, unset ]
* Found these USE flags for net-misc/curl-8.1.2:
U I
+ + adns : Add support for asynchronous DNS resolution
- - alt-svc : Enable alt-svc support
- - brotli : Enable brotli compression support
- - curl_ssl_gnutls : Use GnuTLS
- - curl_ssl_mbedtls : Use mbed TLS
- - curl_ssl_nss : Use Mozilla's Network Security Services
+ + curl_ssl_openssl : Use OpenSSL
+ + ftp : Enable FTP support
- - gnutls : Enable gnutls ssl backend
- - gopher : Enable Gopher protocol support
- - hsts : Enable HTTP Strict Transport Security
+ + http2 : Enable HTTP/2.0 support
- - idn : Enable support for Internationalized Domain Names
+ + imap : Enable Internet Message Access Protocol support
- - kerberos : Add kerberos support
- - ldap : Add LDAP support (Lightweight Directory Access Protocol)
- - mbedtls : Enable mbedtls ssl backend
- - nss : Enable nss ssl backend
+ + openssl : Enable openssl ssl backend
+ + pop3 : Enable Post Office Protocol 3 support
+ + progress-meter : Enable the progress meter
- - rtmp : Enable RTMP Streaming Media support
- - samba : Add support for SAMBA (Windows File and Printer sharing)
+ + smtp : Enable Simple Mail Transfer Protocol support
- - ssh : Enable SSH urls in curl using libssh2
+ + ssl : Enable crypto engine support (via openssl if USE='-gnutls -nss')
- - static-libs : Build static versions of dynamic libraries as well
- - telnet : Enable Telnet protocol support
- - test : Enable dependencies and/or preparations necessary to run tests (usually controlled by FEATURES=test but can be toggled independently)
+ + tftp : Enable TFTP support
+ + verify-sig : Verify upstream signatures on distfiles
- - websockets : Enable websockets support
- - zstd : Enable zstd compression |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Ionen Developer
Joined: 06 Dec 2018 Posts: 2850
|
Posted: Thu Sep 28, 2023 4:15 pm Post subject: |
|
|
USE look pretty default so nothing of note there I guess. fwiw could try updating curl, curl-8.2.1 was stabilized earlier -- albeit 8.1.2 works for me too (Edit: and I do have adns enabled, not that trying without would hurt to narrow down the issue).
Does this happen with any https:// links? Maybe something up with openssl, albeit failing to resolve hosts doesn't quite add up with that unless error is being misleading...
Last edited by Ionen on Thu Sep 28, 2023 4:24 pm; edited 2 times in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
grknight Retired Dev
Joined: 20 Feb 2015 Posts: 1908
|
Posted: Thu Sep 28, 2023 4:19 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Try disabling the adns USE on net-misc/curl. I've seen similar errors in the past and this is a quick workaround. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
lekto Apprentice
Joined: 20 Sep 2014 Posts: 207 Location: Ancient Rome
|
Posted: Thu Sep 28, 2023 4:37 pm Post subject: |
|
|
grknight wrote: | Try disabling the adns USE on net-misc/curl. I've seen similar errors in the past and this is a quick workaround. |
That fixed it, but why? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
GravityShark n00b
Joined: 18 Nov 2023 Posts: 1
|
Posted: Sat Nov 18, 2023 9:44 am Post subject: |
|
|
grknight wrote: | Try disabling the adns USE on net-misc/curl. I've seen similar errors in the past and this is a quick workaround. |
Thanks for this, since this has also solved my curl from not working too, but I would also like an explanation on why is this the case. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
jkagen n00b
Joined: 29 Jul 2008 Posts: 42
|
Posted: Sun Nov 19, 2023 5:07 pm Post subject: |
|
|
The same here, it fixed my issue with git too. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
grknight Retired Dev
Joined: 20 Feb 2015 Posts: 1908
|
Posted: Sun Nov 19, 2023 5:10 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Another post points to a suggestion that c-ares can have a hard time with some /etc/hosts file layouts.
Simple ones are usually fine, but more complex and very large ones can confuse it. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
jkagen n00b
Joined: 29 Jul 2008 Posts: 42
|
Posted: Sun Nov 19, 2023 5:13 pm Post subject: |
|
|
My /etc/hosts is simple, just two lines:
127.0.0.1 localhost
::1 localhost |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Hu Administrator
Joined: 06 Mar 2007 Posts: 22617
|
Posted: Sun Nov 19, 2023 6:00 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Without more detail about how the affected systems fail, it is difficult to offer more than general speculation about the cause. If you are curious why it failed, I suggest you reproduce it, post a new thread, and provide the versions and full output of the failure. Additionally, be prepared to apply debugging suggestions to try to isolate the cause. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
toralf Developer
Joined: 01 Feb 2004 Posts: 3940 Location: Hamburg
|
Posted: Sun Nov 19, 2023 6:36 pm Post subject: |
|
|
jkagen wrote: | My /etc/hosts is simple, just two lines:
127.0.0.1 localhost
::1 localhost | Maybe it is an ipv6 issue ? You can verify it by using the ipv4 address instead the hast name in https://.... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
jkagen n00b
Joined: 29 Jul 2008 Posts: 42
|
Posted: Sun Nov 19, 2023 8:02 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I tried:
git pull https://anongit.freedesktop.org/git/drm/drm.git --ipv4
still getting
fatal: unable to access 'https://anongit.freedesktop.org/git/drm/drm.git/': Could not resolve host: anongit.freedesktop.org |
|
Back to top |
|
|
ecko Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 04 Jul 2010 Posts: 107
|
Posted: Sat Jul 27, 2024 3:48 pm Post subject: |
|
|
The "cannot resolve github.com" when cloning a repository (a simple user) is a separate issue, it can be solved by:
Code: | git config --global --unset http.proxy
git config --global --unset https.proxy
|
Even if you are not using a proxy. Source: https://stackoverflow.com/questions/20370294/git-could-not-resolve-host-github-com-error-while-cloning-remote-repository-in
I also can confirm on my side that the "cannot revolve github.com" by the gentoo tools (in root account) is solved by:
Code: | USE="-adns" emerge net-misc/curl
|
Before that, I was getting these errors:
Code: | emaint sync -A
>>> Syncing repository 'stuff' into '/var/lib/layman/stuff'...
/usr/bin/git fetch origin
fatal: unable to access 'https://github.com/istitov/stuff.git/': Could not resolve host: github.com
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
|