View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
MacMasta Guru
Joined: 18 Apr 2002 Posts: 545 Location: Anchorage, AK
|
Posted: Fri Jan 10, 2003 8:26 am Post subject: Mailman's Apache component spazzing out |
|
|
So I unmasked mailman, and ran the suggested /../...ebuild configure, and set all the correct things in /etc/conf.d/apache, so now it reads:
Code: |
APACHE_OPTS="-D SSL -D PHP4 -D MAILMAN"
|
and restarted apache. I built a mailing list, and the little e-mail it sent me suggested going to http://myhostname/mailman/admin/nameoflist
Only that gives me a 404 not found.
Urk?
/etc/apache/conf/apache.conf includes an Include addon-modules/mailman.conf
and that file looks legit to me - lots of apache-style syntax.
By the way, ssl doesn't work either...php does, though. (not having ssl isn't really a problem)
Any ideas?
Thanks!
~Mac~ |
|
Back to top |
|
|
MacMasta Guru
Joined: 18 Apr 2002 Posts: 545 Location: Anchorage, AK
|
Posted: Fri Jan 10, 2003 8:39 am Post subject: |
|
|
I'm just solving my own problems left and right today.
Here's how to fix this one:
doing
Code: |
/etc/init.d/apache restart
|
won't work - you need to do
Code: |
/etc/init.d/apache stop
/etc/init.d/apache start
|
and then it works.
Score +5 for easy solutions to hard problems!
~Mac~ |
|
Back to top |
|
|
MikePikeFL Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 19 Aug 2003 Posts: 78
|
Posted: Fri Aug 22, 2003 6:49 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Quote: | /etc/apache/conf/apache.conf includes an Include addon-modules/mailman.conf |
I had to modify this line to look like this:
Code: | Include conf/addon-modules/mailman.conf |
This is the only place I could find any documentation on how to get this set up! Of course I blatantly ignored the suggestion to RTFM in the Virtual-Mailhosting-Guide.
Now I just need to figure out how to change the URL since the server I run this on runs as HTTPS and on port 8080 so clicking any link or submit button yields a 404! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
yassen Apprentice
Joined: 26 Mar 2004 Posts: 194
|
Posted: Tue Nov 16, 2004 9:11 pm Post subject: |
|
|
SOLUTION:
The problem: you run mailman fine under http:// but need to run it under https://
Mike was so kind to give me this hint: wipe out your installation alltogether (a hurricane at his site did that several months ago!), then reinstall, fix immediately the DEFAULT_URL_PATTERN in Mailman/mm_cfg.py to say something like
Code: | DEFAULT_URL_PATTERN = 'https://%s/mailman/' |
then go on with any further preparations and a first start.
I did this and now it runs fine under https://. _________________ :: Adopt an Unanswered Post :: |
|
Back to top |
|
|
MikePikeFL Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 19 Aug 2003 Posts: 78
|
Posted: Tue Nov 16, 2004 11:07 pm Post subject: |
|
|
yassen wrote: | I did this and now it runs fine under https://. |
Glad I could help! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|